Steffies House
Dog Grooming
Day-Care
Boarding.

Portland Oregon
*Cage Free*

Steffies's House Dog Grooming Logo
For Tiny Up To 75 Lb. Dogs
No Bully-Breeds, Pitbulls, Staffies

Reviews

Satisfied Repeat Business Customer Reviews On Bing, Yahoo, Google, Yelp, and More!!

If you want to go fast and believe the paid for high star rating go ahead, but remember to take Reviews with a 'grain of salt', meaning, you can't believe everything you read. Right now, I have 3 stars on some, 5 on others, its a mess. Humans tend to take more time tearing people down than building up. Businesses with 5 stars have paid-for magical fingers helping them get there: I myself paid $900 to have a company boost my reviews. After half a year I gained 1/2 a star,,apparently they wanted more time and more money, it's a racket perpetuated by fear and people that trust star symbols over taking a minute to actually go see for themselves.

    When someone gives 1 star claiming that I am prejudiced against Pitbulls it brings my stars/rating down. I would rather have that as the comment than 'my dog was killed by a pitbull' here. It is my right to choose to refuse to do business with what I feel is a probable threat.
 As I have small dogs here, and do mostly smaller dogs in my business, I choose to not take unnessary risks, my decision on no Pits is based on news reports, court tv, veterarians, and actual 1st hand experiences.

     I greatly value your honest and respectful review of my work. I know I have grown tremendously from listening to people, and the quality of my work has also benifited from the various opinions I have recieved. I respond better to calm and clear Creative Critisim rather than being verbally attacked. If you have an issue, please first come to me, and hear what I have to say about it, as well, and give me a chance to fix the problem.  I strive to make all my customers happy and satisfied.  If you have had previous trouble getting your dog trimmed like you want, please bring a photo or drawing for me to follow. I will keep a copy on your Contact page, as an attachment.
 
You may go to Google, Bing, Yahoo, as well as many other places like Merchant Circle, to find and leave reviews. Thankfully, the Positives far out number the Negatives! The idea of 5-Star Rating is superficially helpful, but without truthful reviews, are pretty much meaningless.
 
If you would like actual phone reccomendations, please ask, and I will be happy to ask any of my customers to call you in private,,whether they
do is up to them, of course, but I am confident that you will hear good things.
 
On Mobile Phone View, I will be hiding all the reviews to gain speed.  Iif you are interested in viewing the various online reviews on Steffies House Dog Grooming all in one spot, please use your PC to read this page.   Again, Thank You My Public, For Your Valued Reviews!  S
base href="http://home.earthlink.net/~steffiesdogwash//"/base
The following reviews were taken directly from Steffie's online reviews on popular search engines and may also be viewed there. They are reproduced here for your convenience, and also so you can more easily see any post-review comments she may have made. Pull up a chair, this may take awhile!


[5.0 star rating]
6/21/2016
I've been taking my 11 year old papillion/chihuahua mix to Steffie for a couple years and have had only wonderful experiences with Steffie and her care for my dog.

I'll agree with another yelp reviewer in that this place is not for the prissy (both dogs and their owners). From what I can tell from the less than 5 star reviews, there seems to have been a misalignment in expectations. There is nothing fancy about Steffie's home and services, outside of her attention to detail with grooming (which is all the razzmatazz I need).

Steffie is an incredibly caring and attentive person - she's clearly an animal lover and has all of the warmth (and perhaps the delightful quirks) that you would hope for in someone who really understands animals. With that, her 'bedside manner' is not that of a typical business woman per se, but she's very reasonable in her pricing and will love on your animal like it's her own. Also, it's incredibly convenient for me to shoot Steffie a quick text to check for week-of availability for grooming. I happened to be working from home yesterday, sent her a text late morning, and got my dog in for a full grooming session by the afternoon.

I'll continue to take my dog here until the day she dies, and hopefully, with the help of Steffie and her teeth cleaning, hair brushing, nail clipping, anal gland expressing, grooming magic, that won't be for many, many years.


Here are 2 more current reviews:
1/11/2015
I took my very matted & stinky Maltipoo to Steffie's on a Sunday afternoon as I was very desperate to get my pup groomed & looking/feeling back to normal. Though I did not have an appointment I called in with the hopes that there was an opening. Steffie was very polite and sweet over the phone and gladly accepted my last minute appointment. Steffie's House has a very homey environment. There's even a cute rooster (or at least I think it was a rooster) wandering around the yard.

I know my pup is a piece of work, but Steffie was very patient with me and my dog and gave me advice on how to keep her coat looking fresh and maintained. It took about an hour and half to have my pup wash cleaned, nails trimmed, and coat trimmed. Steffie was very professional and easy going! Definitely recommend any dog lovers checking out her services. I myself won't hesitate to come back for another visit.
Was this review …?
Useful 1
Funny
Cool
[Emily N.]
Emily N.
Roswell, GA
1 friend
3 reviews
Share review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Emily N.
Stop following Emily N.
[5.0 star rating]
1/16/2015
My dogs are always happy & pretty. I really like this place & I feel like my dogs actually enjoy it too.
[Steffies House Dog Wash and Groom - Portland, OR, United States. Pumpkin]
Pumpkin
Pumpkin
[Steffies House Dog Wash and Groom - Portland, OR, United States. Sugar]
Sugar
Sugar
Was this review …?
Useful
Funny
Cool
 
 
A Google User reviewed a year ago
Overall Excellent
Steffie did a great job grooming my labradoodle! She did just what we wanted, he was happy when we picked him up, and her prices were affordable! We will certainly bring him back again!
A Google User reviewed 3 years ago
Overall Excellent
I took Shane, my three years old Cairn Terrier to have his grooming, bath, nails and teeth brush at Steffies House twice. Steffanie has done great jobs on him. He is not the easiest dog to groom. He hate every type of brushing and grooming. He trusted Steffanie and she did great work with him. I love how she decorate and let the dogs running free at her home business.
A Google User reviewed a year ago
Overall Excellent
COOL PLACE.ll comments for Steffie's House Dog Grooming
Sort by: Most Recent Rating
[Daniel]
Daniel
Created on 09/30/11
Steph is fabulous! We took our mini-schnauzers, OZ and cOZmo to her on the recommendation of a friend. When we picked them up (in less than 2 hrs), the boys were hanging out with Steph's dogs (no cages). They looked absolutely adorable and the price was way more than reasonable. My only worry is recommending Steph to too many people and pets. It'll be too hard to get in and see her. :-)
Steffies House Dog Grooming is a great place to check out if you are in the trying to give your dog a 5-star grooming experience. I have always had complications at my age brushing my pug Trixie's teeth, which is why I include that in my package whenever I go see Steffie. Thanks so much and keep up the good work!All comments for Steffie's House Dog Grooming
Sort by: Most Recent Rating
[Daniel]
Daniel
Created on 09/30/11
Steph is fabulous! We took our mini-schnauzers, OZ and cOZmo to her on the recommendation of a friend. When we picked them up (in less than 2 hrs), the boys were hanging out with Steph's dogs (no cages). They looked absolutely adorable and the price was way more than reasonable. My only worry is recommending Steph to too many people and pets. It'll be too hard to get in and see her. :-)
Write a comment ...
[Alyssa F]
Alyssa F
Created on 09/06/11
Steffies House Dog Grooming is a great place to check out if you are in the trying to give your dog a 5-star grooming experience. I have always had complications at my age brushing my pug Trixie's teeth, which is why I include that in my package whenever I go see Steffie. Thanks so much and keep up the good work!
Write a comment ...
[linda s]
linda s
Created on 01/06/11
Excellent experience for my timid Lucy and for me as well. I was amazed at how patient & caring Steffie is and her 2 dogs are great icebreakers. It helps a lot that it's a homey setting, with no noise or heavy traffic or rush. Lucy had a bath & her nails cut. I was impressed that Steffie took her time and truly knew what she was doing. It's my opinion she undercharges for her services.
[Bonnie]
Bonnie
Created on 07/21/09
I would recommend Steffie's Dog Wash to anyone with a small-medium dog. I met her at the park one day and she gave me her card. I decided to try her since my dog doesn't like the commotion of big grooming places. Steffie is very friendly and she really takes the time to find out how you want your dog to be groomed. Her rates are the same or cheaper than anywhere else I've been, and she provides a more comfortable environment. She has always been able to accommodate my schedule. She gives me a call when my dog is up for another groom but has never been pushy about it. My dog is always happy to be there, and comes home smelling good with a cute haircut. As a cool bonus, Steffie uses organic products and green practices.WOW, i cannot say enough good things about her and her business! she is VERY VERY friendly, and not to mention does an awesome job! my dog was VERY CLEAN. his ears werent sticky, his breath didnt smell as bad. she DOES A LOT for what she charges, she even put advantage on him for the first time for free! i love how it isnt a grooming place.. and she takes her time.. it is very homey like, and i think thats good for your dogs! because then they arent as nervous! i WILL most definitely be taking snickers back here for another groom. oh and not to mention those cute dogs she has to keep yours company! CALL HER YOU WONT REGRET IT![A Yahoo! Local user]
A Yahoo! Local user
Created on 06/08/09
      
We chanced upon Steffie's through this yahoo search when Petsmart wasn't able to groom both of our Standard Schnouzers at the same time. When we picked up our boy Jacque he looked excellent ! You could really see the care that was put into his wash & cut. When we picked up Lexie from Petsmart however we were dissappointed, they clipped her tail to a bare spot and she had a cookie cutter cut. Next time we will schedule both with Steffie's! in the same amount of time we were given very different results.[chris1]
chris1
Created on 11/20/08
Friendly service! Good rates! I think she used organic products, my dogs coat stayed noticably more healthy looking. She called (once) when it was time for her to see him again, which was a nice reminder. In all I felt very safe having my dog with her and was definitly satisfied with the service. Ill be bringing my dog back to see her. Chris
Lauren F.'s Review
Review from Lauren F.
[Photo of Lauren F.]
1 friend
4 reviews
Lauren F.
Portland, OR
[5.0 star rating]
1/21/2012
Its the dead of Winter, and my dog was starting to smell like a bag of fritos. Being car-less, taking her to a groomer is tricky in the muddy rain. Luckily Steffie is just two blocks away from my house! I wish I knew she was around sooner!

So I took Aggie, my 30 pound Corgi, over to Steffie's House. I returned an hour and a half later, and it was like picking up a new dog! She's so clean and smells so good! Steffie is super thorough in her practice. Ags was "ferminated," got a good scrub down (hard to get through all that fur), got a belly and paw pad trim, nail trim, and tons more. And this was all for 24 bucks!

Another great thing about Steffie is that it's clear she loves dogs. You know your dog isn't just another dog of the day. She gets to know them and makes them feel at home. So you know youre dog is in good hands when you leave her to get groomed.

I'll definitely be returning.
Was this review …?
Useful(3)
Funny(3)
Cool(2)
Add owner comment
Bookmark
Send to a Friend
Link to This Review
From Reviewers You're Following
Reviews from Your Friends
9 reviews in English
Review from Meghan C.
[Photo of Meghan C.]
0 friends
7 reviews
Meghan C.
Pearl District, Portland, OR
[4.0 star rating]
4/1/2013
I am really happy to have found Steffie! She took my dog when I was desperate to get her groomed. I loved the look and feel of her in home shop. It is very quaint and I was so happy that my dog was not put in a little box called a kennel. The actual haircut was not the bast my dog has ever had, but the positives of the experience made this fact less important. I will go back and intend to become a "regular".
Was this review …?
Useful 
Funny 
Cool 
Bookmark
Send to a Friend
Link to This Review
Comment from Stephanie S. of Steffies House Dog Wash and Groom 5/26/2013    « Hide
It is so nice to have a positive public review, I value all… More »
It is so nice to have a positive public review, I value all my reviews and regard them all as good ways to learn how to improve my service, for some reason the positive ones just make me want to try even harder to please! So, Thank You!!
 About my not-the-best of doggy haircuts,,so often I am left trying to read a clients mind,,remember to bring in a picture,,it's worth a thousand words! I try to 'interview' for what is wanted; 1/2" all over is typical of what a client wants for a pet clip, yet often makes the doggy look skinny-legged,,also, if you want 2" length, well, I hand-scissor that, I don't use cllip-on combs on my electric clippers, so, well, just to say I am improving little by little, there's not a lot of longhaired clients around here, they just want 'short all over'. Usually a Lhasa Apso in long coat will take me 1/2 an hour longer than an electric clippered Lhasa, but the longest I can clipper at is 1". Another consideration is coat texture. I find that blending and feathering with thinning shears works best on very fine straight coats like on Yorkies. After 5 years of grooming my techniques have improved greatly. In this economy I feel each customers pain at the cost of grooming, so I go as fast as I can and try to 'get 'er done', to save them money,,perhaps I need to stop assuming that's what they want, and just do 'Perfect' no matter they have to spend more money,,if you have a preference, please let me know, ok? Thank you for your repeat patronage, please be as communicative as possible, and, bring in a picture of what you expect. Groomers all train at different places, and have their own 'Style', but can copy whatever you bring in.RE: bad review by Anonymous,,Originally I entered the following paragaraphs text in response,,but now I see it all was merely an offensive Hactivist's usual gutless crime for fun spree. After watching an artical on tv about "We Are Anonymous", people that go around the internet creating havoc, addicted to creating havoc,  with false justifications and false purpose. I now know this was a baseless comment intended to hurt "Business", it just happened to be my 'turn' I guess. The only difference they are making is a negative one. My theory is that they are too lazy to go get a real life of their own. They are yellow bellied cyber bullies, rebels without a clue. It may be my neighbor, or not.
From what I read, one should be suspect of a business that only has good glowing reviews, and that the negative ones bring balance and realism. From the business owners standpoint, I would rather not have a negative review, but we can't all be perfect, can we?
Please realize that this following customer has a penchant for the dramatic, evident in her phrasing and word choice. No doubt she was furious at herself for talking me into taking on her dog, and not reminding me she was a Runner when she got here for the 1st time...a week after she had called and made the appointment. She'd talked me into taking her dog, even though my instinct said no, after she had explained how her dog had managed to untie itself from outside a coffee shop and run home. After a week I had forgotten the conversation, and there was no Customer Card made out yet, because she was new.
    
[1.0 star rating]
5/11/2013
BEWARE -- my dog escaped while being groomed. Imagine your 15-pound dog running scared and collarless from a location near the busy Stark & Cesar Chavez intersection!

While putting up "Lost" posters in the area, I met a man who told me that once when he dropped his dog off at Steffie's, another dog got out into the yard. That man was able to stop that dog.  

Steffie has a security problem. When she called to tell me my dog had run away, she said another customer left the door open and my dog must've got out through a hole in the fence!  Then she said my rescue dog is a "runner". In the next breath, she acknowledged that I had informed her of this.

Steffie needs to personally close the dutch door to the grooming area, the basement door, and latch the gate -- not rely on customers she can later blame. Her fence needs to be in good working order, or she should not accept dogs until it is.

I had to lift up the gate to latch it. A second gate between the house and the yard can easily be installed to provide additional security.

To Steffie's credit, she called me immediately and she had talked with neighbors to give me a general idea of which way my dog ran.  When I picked up my dog's collar from her, she didn't want to be paid for the grooming and offered to reimburse me for my expenses. She put up a couple lost posters by the time I got to her house to leave her the photo posters that I made. Later, Steffie left me a message that she found and fixed the hole in the fence.

Steffie also offers day care and boarding. I liked the homey feel of Steffie's place. Initially, she seemed like a warm and helpful person. It's too bad that she doesn't have good security or procedures in place. I had been looking forward to leaving my dog for day care and boarding there.

Thanks to the kindness of strangers, my dog was found a mile away. The HomeAgain chip was read at the Oregon Humane Society and I got my mini-poodle back. I am grateful that my dog's injuries are limited to shock, bleeding paws and nails, and dehydration.

It was a frightening experience that good procedures and security would obviate.
Was this review …?
Useful (1)
Funny (1)
Cool  
Bookmark
Send to a Friend
Link to This Review
Comment from Stephanie S. of Steffies House Dog Wash and Groom 5/26/2013    « Hide
If you have a 'Runner' then a Cage Free Environment is probably not for you. If you know your dog is an Escape Artist, please don't talk me into taking him on as a client. I am responsible and careful, and as diligent about safety as a person can be, but sometimes things are out of my control.  I know trying to place your dog with such a nice place as this sounds awesome, but if you have a Houdini, don't. The reason people come to me is for Cage Free, and great price. Maybe the great price clouded your judgement. I know I tried to discourage taking your dog on.
My property is fully fenced with a sturdy heavy guage PVC plastic mesh made for fencing, it is only 3' high in the front per local code, and only 4' high on the sides, again, per local code. I check the fences for holes periodically, but not every day. Who does? I have a triple-entry system. This is more even than most groomers. This is not the local Dog Pound. I am very up-front about my limitations and have 'No Runners' on my website and all of my advertising. (As well as 'No Breeders', and yet for some reason, people bring me their intact dogs for me to groom, and get angry when I turn them away,,I just explain again, how it's my way of trying to cut down on dog overpopulation, because over 4 million dogs are gassed,,every year,,,) I am so glad you Rescued this dog from a shelter, but you told me on the phone your dog was a runner, but wanted me to groom him, then later at your appointment you forgot to remind me he was a runner, when we made out your card. While in my care I provided due diligence..and then some, but it's been said, if a dog wants to escape, he'll find a way, no matter what. I wish you luck with your dog, in the future,,, you are both going to need it! A note to everyone else, maybe we should write a book, interviewing all groomers, they can all tell you of dogs in their care who have escaped,,,it's not If,,it's When,,and if they deny it, they are lying! :) Look, dogs run, it's what they do, if they didn't we wouldn't need Dog Catchers or Animal Control. See? It's not only me! Not to seem cavalier about it, just stating the facts. Really, I do wish you well, and all those who have Crazy Runner Doggies.Addendum: the comment she makes about the man and another dog getting out,, she was not there personally and this is a Third Party comment she is just using to try to add fuel to her fire,, has no clue as to the accurate story,,,as the man said, he was entering, and that dog pushed its way out to greet his family. They all should have come in and latched the gate behind them. And I was right there, he stopped the dog from the front, I had ahold of it's tail,,That dog was not a runner, we stopped him no problem. I am sure the man was just commiserating with her to make her feel better, but she is using it to try to make me look bad. When it comes to my  gates, I am the owner and hold full responsibility, but I'm not holding a shotgun to make sure people use them correctly, it is up to each customer to be aware of what is going on, and act with responsibility as well.
 In reference to :"Initially, she seemed like a warm and helpful person. " I was completely empathic to her and was kind and helpful the entire time, I was never rude. However, I did have to tell her that I was sorry to have to say that she could not be my customer with a Runner doggy like that. I wished her well, and told her to keep me updated on the progress of looking for her dog. I asked her to drop off flyers so I could hand them out and post them around as well. 
It is my belief that she was also in part angry at herself for choosing a Runaway for a pet. And still to this date, I wish them Luck.
PPSS,,I have requested a retraction through Yelp, and have also called and left a message on her phone to please take this negative review down, but she has not responded, and to this date it is still there.
Please tell me, should I:
use steel mesh instead of plastic, just so the next Houdini can decide to climb over instead of break through? Should I install a Buzz In electric door opening system, complete with 2 way intercoms, perhaps video cameras? What about the customer that takes too long coming through that type of security door, just long enough for some other Houdini to slip through? What about dogs that slip their collars? Who's at fault, the groomer, or the customer? As an owner of a live animal business I go above and beyond the usual expected ordinary care it takes to prevent my customer doggies from harm, I am responsible, and diligent, and ever watchful, and yes, I do have eyes in the back of my head! This is not Fort Knox, however, and sometimes the Chaos Factor wins out.
   What I expect from my customers is a much higher level of humanity and understanding for this one woman small business operation. There is no one else here to pass the buck on to, no employees to fire. The only ramification of negative reviews like this is to strike unnecessary fear in people, because there will always be....HOUDINI s!!!
[5.0 star rating]
8/27/2012 3 check-ins here
Where I take my Shih Tzu to get groomed is very important. Not only must the environment be friendly & comfortable, but she must not be enclosed in a cramped cage as she waits for five other dogs ahead of her to get their turn.

Steffie's House offers both attributes in a very cozy, homey way.

Upon walking up, Sofie (my dog) & I were greeted warmly by Steffie & her three pooches. By the way she cooed & loved all over Sofie, I quickly got the impression that she is not only a devoted dog-mama, but an animal lover. I breathed a sigh of relief as she let Sofie get acquainted with her dogs, giving her as much time as she needed. (Sofie is very anti-social & wary of other animals.)

Steffie's House is exactly what it says it is: a house. She works by herself out of the basement of her home, & when we walked down into it we saw a small, intimate working place with a caged-off area designated for doggies to relax & play. There were toys, fluffy pillows, & blankets strew all over the place, with only the faintest scent of wet dog (no grooming place is complete without it!). I breathed another sigh of relief as I watched Sofie sniff around excitedly. She seemed right at home.

About an hour & a half later, Steffie called us to let us know that Sofie was ready to be picked up. She looked amazing! Nails clipped, fleas removed, perfectly groomed, just the way I wanted. And she didn't run up to me with her tail between her legs. Sofie looked like she felt very safe with Steffie & even made some new friends. I was so pleased!

One of the biggest reasons I will come back to Steffie, aside from wanting to support small, local businesses, is the reasonable price. Where I used to take Sofie to get groomed, I was paying close to $100 for the works -- including a flea treatment & a tip. But with Steffie, my bill was $40! I tipped her generously for her time & passion.

So 5-stars for quality, friendliness, comfort, & outstanding prices. I will absolutely come back to Steffie for as long as I have fur-babies.

Note: Steffie's House is probably not best for people (& dogs) who are posh, bourgeois, &/or persnickety. They will likely feel put off by the "unprofessional" feel & the cozy-chaos of Steffie's House. But for me & Sofie, it was refreshing & suited us perfectly! Felt like we were going to a dear & trusted friend's house for a visit.
Was this review …?
Useful (2)
Funny  
Cool  
Add owner comment
Bookmark
Send to a Friend
Link to This Review
 
Review from Donna K.
[Photo of Donna K.]
Elite '13
39 friends
61 reviews
Donna K.
Portland, OR
[5.0 star rating]
6/19/2012 4 check-ins here
Steffies house of grooming is a hidden gem.  My yorkie always comes out looking super fresh and clean.  Steffie always does a good job on my little guy.  She is also knowledgable about dogs and always has good advice to offer to keep my best friend healthy and happy.  The grooming place is a happy environment for the friends with a doggy pen complete with pillows and couches... Not to mention the works is super affordable. Nails, ears, glands, bath, and grooming!
Was this review …?
Useful  
Funny  
Cool  
Add owner comment
Bookmark
Send to a Friend
Link to This Review
Review from Alena V.
[Photo of Alena V.]
0 friends
1 review
Alena V.
Portland, OR
[1.0 star rating]
2/9/2013
I was very hopeful after reading the reviews for Steffies House Dog Wash and Groom, but disappointed would be a major understatement. I called to make an appointment and it was DAYS before I got a call back. When I finally did hear back Steffie seemed too busy to be bothered.  I was very forthright about my dogs anxiety about getting her nails trimmed (she is squirmy and nervous but has never been aggressive to a soul) but Steffie seemed uninterested in talking about her practices or how she chooses to deal with anxious dogs. Upon arriving for our appointment I found Steffie to be disinterested and off-putting.  She began by saying terrible things about another dog who was there and informed me that she had called the dogs owners and refused to work with their dog again because of its anxiety. She asked if my dog had ever had her nails done using a dremmel tool and despite the fact that I said that she had not and would most likely not like it (she hates noises of that sort) she began using the tool on her back nails. She stopped after about a minute or so to address the owner of the dog she had already said such nasty things about when they arrived to pick up their dog. They were very apologetic about any problems their dog had caused and again her response was completely rude! During this time she had left my very small dog, who she had only met for a total of five minutes, hooked up to the grooming table unable to move. While I have no doubt that this is common practice, and I am not claiming that my dog was in an unsafe situation, being left in that situation without anyone attending to her only exacerbated her anxiety. She then worked with my dog for three more minutes or so before telling me that my dog was too anxious and she didn't need the trouble. I watched the entire encounter and my dog didn't scream, bark, or bite...she just squirmed around a little bit. She then told me that I needed to get her nails done at the vet so she could be sedated. My dog is five years old and I have never been told that her anxiety is such that sedation is a necessary (or even good) option. I took her to another groomer the following day and her nails were done flawlessly without issue. If you have the type of dog who stands perfectly still to be washed, trimmed, and clipped without so much as a batted eye perhaps Steffie will give decent service...but if you have a normal dog who is perfectly fine but just isn't too fond of these types of endeavors---look elsewhere!
Was this review …?
Useful (2)
Funny  
Cool  
Bookmark
Send to a Friend
Link to This Review
Comment from Stephanie S. of Steffies House Dog Wash and Groom 5/27/2013    « Hide
This happened a long time ago, and I am finally finding this comment and doing something about it.  Maybe I should just let it slide. But,,I'm on a roll: All I can say is, most people are not privy to what goes on in a grooming salon. They have no idea how their dog behaves.They have no idea that it may take 2 or even 3 groomers to hold down a dog just to do their nails. Some groomers use tranquilizers. This also helps keep their grooming salons more quiet. The groomer will tell them "Oh! Pup was an absolute doll!" when actually the dog was a royal pain, or "Junior got a little nippy this time!" when Junior had actually drawn blood, maybe several times, before finally being muzzled,,,Sometimes we have to put on a Pleasant Front to gain confidence and repeat business.(Sometimes we say, 'you have a bad dog, never bring them back here again,,,a neighboring groomer has said this,,I know I am not the only one to 'tell it like it is' !)Some groomers are so strong and so fast at doing the nails the dog hasn't time to realize what's happening, Voila! it's done! Trouble with that is, fast means either they are just 'Tipping' the nail, - taking just the tip off, which can actually make the nail quick grow out longer and faster, or they have greater chance of making the nail bleed. Dremelling eliminates that problem, but the dog needs to be restrained on a table for that. It helps if the dog was groomed using a Dremel since it was a puppy, but if given time and patience, can quickly learn, on the first session, even as an adult dog.  It is rare a new customer brings in a dog that has no problem having it's nails done,,Usually they hate it, but if it was their first time with me, I know it wasn't me that gave it that 'fear of having nails done', it was someone else, maybe even their owner,, Sometimes I get customer who's dog has other neurotic anxieties, of being somewhere new, of shiny things, of new experiences, of new people, sounds, smells, of being seperated even just for a moment from their Parent... and will exhibit a high level of anxiety especially if they know their Parent is right there, watching, or can hear them in the other room. They 'act up' even more if their Parent wants to stand there and help but doesn't know how to restrain their dog to have the nails done, and end up being useless  and the parent's anxiety at witnessing their dog's anxiety just compounds the problem. It takes an Act Of God for the groomer to not catch this negative Vibe and continue calmly. I have been able to, but maybe this time I just couldn't.  This is a very tiny grooming salon, I don't have the space to whisk the dog off into some sound-proofed back room,,,so, this may have just been a first dose of Reality for this customer,,I have professional training DVD's , ie Jay Scruggs, that show how to use proper restraint  to do a super-anxious dog, so I know how to do that, and do it when I need to, but this person wanted just nails, and teathering up the dog in restraints must have just seemed too traumatic of a thing for this customer to have to witness, or maybe I had just had a crappy day, and didn't want to go through that anxiety at that time...No doubt I was very much made aware of their concern, so I recommended they take their  dog to the vet, or somewhere they had more than one groomer to hold the dog down. What's wrong with that? Being truthful is good, if you ask me! I would rather not do a dog then have a heart attack,,what, for $5??? Unfortunately the customer may not be understanding,,and see that as being inconvenienced, and call the groomer unprofessional, and emotions may turn from grumpy to angry and rude,,I  try to remain calm and professional, but you know, I am human. If I had just had a really terrible customer previously to this person, and no time to 'lick my wounds', no wonder I was impatient or 'snarky',,,I really try, but folks, you have to try to understand, groomers go though a heck of alot to make your Besty look great,,And, each day is different, isn't it? Sometimes a dog may come in, have a perfectly easy grooming one time, and the next time be hyper, then the time after that easy again,,dogs have good and bad days, too, just like people.  I'm not saying it's the customer's fault, I'm just saying,,,who's perfect? The one thing I am doing differently this year? I don't do caffeine anymore,,I think that helps. The older and more experienced I get I am more 'Tranquil' as well. Would you rather I called and cancelled the appointment you have waited 2 weeks for, just to tell you "I've Had A Bad Day, and am feeling too Grumpy to keep your appointment, you will Have to Reschedule"??No, or, would you  like me just just suck it up, and do my job, like some Corporate Robot Assembly Line Groomer, with no emotions at all? We cant always be peaches and cream. But I Try...But sometimes one customer's bad mood may have a residual effect, and can't be dealt with as easily or quickly as you the next customer, wants
Flag this comment
Review from Anabel D.
[Photo of Anabel D.]
0 friends
4 reviews
Anabel D.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
[5.0 star rating]
11/1/2012
As the owner of a rescued dog, I'm glad there are places like Steffie's to get my dog groomed. My dog suffers from separation anxiety, so grooming is pretty traumatizing for her. She did well at Steffie's though because she got to hang out with her dogs for an hour and a half instead of being stuck in a crate alone for 3-5 hours. Steffie used a medicated shampoo for my dog's severely dry skin (which I requested). She even got to take home a fancy feathered hair clip. Steffie's is a good place to take a dog who does not do well at a traditional groomers, or any dog you want taken good and loving care of.
Was this review …?
Useful  
Funny  
Cool  
Add owner comment
Bookmark
Send to a Friend
Link to This Review
Review from Jan R.
[Photo of Jan R.]
0 friends
3 reviews
Jan R.
Portland, OR
[5.0 star rating]
2/20/2012
Steffie's House is a small, home-based, one-person dog groomer.  She does excellent work and the environment is very pet-friendly.  Our miniature schnauzer always looks and smells great after a visit to Steffie and, best of all, he likes to go there!  It's very homey and cozy, and there are no cages or crates.  You can tell Steffie really knows and loves dogs.
Was this review …?
Useful (1)
Funny  
Cool  
Add owner comment
Bookmark
Send to a Friend
Link to This Review
Portland, OR
[1.0 star rating]
11/2/2011
We had been very happy with this groomer until yesterday.  That is when we picked up our dogs and one of them was injured.  The groomer, Steffie was "snarky" with me as she was trying to explain how one of our dogs was injured in her care.  We had to take him to the vet today because he was in so much pain, only to find out that his toenail is ripped in half and has to be surgically removed.  When my husband called her to tell her about it and see if she was going to help pay for this costly procedure, she blamed it on the dog.  Saying the dog was crazy and it was not her fault.  All this when she has always praised this dog and said he was always good in the past.  I don't know about any other doggie parent's, but when I put my baby in your care, I expect you to take care of my kids.  If the dog was aggravated and you say to my husband you could have tied his feet together or stopped, maybe you should have stopped!  If you start out by blaming the dog and saying you did nothing wrong and are rude on the phone when the other person is calm AND you say maybe you need a lawyer, you DID something wrong!!  As a college educated, intelligent woman, I know something went wrong and she is not coming clean.
Edit
Comment from Stephanie S. of Steffies House Dog Wash and Groom 6/25/2013
I need to comment on this, and am finally taking the time to do so. So, here is what happened. The doggy was acting extra crazy on this visit, hyper, and did not want to be groomed, kept snapping at the scissors as I worked on the legs, so I muzzled him. He proceeded to frenetically paw at his muzzle trying to get it off. I thought I could settle him, and was able to a little. I clipped his front left nails just fine, no blood, but when I got to the dew claw I noticed it was ripped and I saw pink skin. It was not bleeding. I stopped, and took the dog off the table and called the owners to come get their dog, he needed to go to the vet. They did not pay me. They called later wanting me to pay for their vet bill. I said no, that I personally had not caused that injury, it had injured itself on the muzzle. And I told them they still needed to pay me for the grooming.
It is my policy to pay for what I am responsible for, but self-inflicted wounds are just that. I exercised ordinary care to prevent harm from biting, using the muzzle properly. The dog was harnessed onto the table safely. He may have even injured that dewclaw previously, perhaps jumping in or out of the car, or playing at the park, for all I know, and scratching at the muzzle could have aggravated the problem,,a dog does not walk on the dew claw so no limping was noticed on his arrival, but the long coat on the leg could have concealed a possible problem. We just don't know. But I did not cause this problem.
In any case, I my new policy is that if you bring in a dog with dew claws you will be signing a Release And Hold Harmless form. I suggest also that you have your dogs dewclaws removed by the vet either as a standalone appointment or in conjunction with your dogs next teeth cleaning or whatever other under-anesthesia appointment. Please go online to educate yourself about how much trouble dew claws can cause.
    
Reviews of Steffie's House Dog Grooming
[DexKnows Rating: 5 Stars] 1 Ratings and Reviews
Best Ever!!! by bayoubutterfly -
01/14/2011
I have taken my two dogs to other groomers in the Portland metro area. None of them compare to Steffie. She takes her time with my babies and she does such a wonderful job! She even did a free flea treatment the first time on them! My littlest dog is very hard to groom because of a bad past experience and she was wonderful with him. When I picked him up, he wasn't at all like he usually is when I get to the groomers. He was much more calm. I can't say enough good things about her. Please give her a try. She charges far less than you would imagine for the job she does for your pet.
< Read Less
View all Reviews for Steffie's House Dog Grooming
Here's what people are saying about Steffie's House Dog Grooming on Yelp
[yelp] (3)The following 2 reviews are from Merchant Circle. I am posting this comment here to defend myself, although I know that everyone is entitled to their own opinion. All I can say to the unhappy customer is that I wish they had said something when they picked their dog up, I would have fixed any unevenness right there. As I remember we stood outside and chatted and admired her dog. I remember I had even given her a pretty bandana. I really appreciate it when people can be real and talk to me, and I am sure that if they do they will find out that I am most accommodating.
I am a self-trained groomer, and this is why: I was talking to a mobile groomer, he said he was self-taught. He said there was no law in Oregon that you had to pass some sort of exams or anything. I started in 2008, out of my kitchen. I am sure the first dogs I did were not all that great, but fine for pet quality.. most all of my work was for small dogs. I followed the books on how to groom the breeds. I could not afford all the DVDs at first, so I just went by instinct, doing my best. In 2009 I moved down to the basement. More room, much better. I was able to continue learning 'on the job', striving to please each customer to the best of my abilities, taking their constructive criticisms to heart an fixing any flaws in my methods that I could, learning to slow down, use a dark background to see the lines of light colored dogs, and light for dark colored dogs. My eye for detail has much improved since began, and I am absolutely positive that if this customer were to return to me I would be able to give them the excellent clip they were looking for, now. I now have bright new florescent lighting on both sides of my new electric lift table, and new vision glasses too ! 8)
In response to the pricing, I don't have a flat rate, so when someone calls for a quote, now I am more careful to explain just that. For more info on pricing, please see my Prices! page.
I don't really remember this 2011 customer conversation about pricing, but I may have charged her more than I quoted because it took longer than 1.5 hours, which is common for Standards and large Doodles.
One last response to this customer,,just know that I am human, we all have good and bad days, I try to leave my personal life out of my professional, and again I can't remember the exact circumstance, but it may be that I had booked her dog for the last part of the day and was just too tired (dog grooming is Very physically and sometimes mentally/emotionally taxing!) to see the imperfections she talked about here. 
Reviews about Steffie's House Dog Grooming
Sort by:  Most Helpful | Highest Rated | Most Recent
 
 
 
 
 
View first
Unfortunately this groomer is not formally trained, which can be seen through her poor clipping. She can not handle close even clipping. If you view her photos, which I should have, you can see all cuts are longer with no need to be even. Her prices change greatly when you pick up your dog. Although my dog is a medium to lg. dog, she is very easy going and no one else has ever had trouble trimming her. If there was a rating of '0', I would have given it. My child could have done a better job!
By With held on November 05, 2011 at 01:28 PM
 
 
 
 
 
Steffies House Dog Grooming Rocks!
Steffies House Dog Grooming is a great place to check out if you are in the trying to give your dog a 5-star grooming experience. I have always had complications at my age brushing my pug Trixie's teeth, which is why I include that in my package whenever I go see Steffie. Thanks so much and keep up the good work!
By Anonymous on September 06, 2011 at 08:54 AM
We use Angie's List to assess whether we're doing a good job keeping valued customers like you happy. Please CLICK HERE FOR DIRECT LINK or visit AngiesList.com/Review/6378441 in order to grade our quality of work and customer service.
There may be more review and comments out there, I put the ones I could find in here. In any case, I have to say that I have improved tremendously over the past 5 years, but there are always New Lessons To Be Learned, even for the most seasoned professional groomers.
I have a good, clear conscience, I think positively, and hope that my customers find me open enough to discuss their concerns with me face to face. I am not an aggressive person, and I try to listen properly, and be fair, but remember when dealing with any future unhappiness, you catch more flies with honey than with vinegar! (I tell that to my Lhasa Girl Baby, but still she snaps and misses!) So, Your Feedback is Always Welcome!
                                 And, Thank You Again for Your Patronage![Steffies House Dog Wash and Groom]Stephanie Schulz* 3829 SE Washington St * Portland * Or * 97214

By Appointment, Call Now !
Home Phone 503/ 238-1638
Cell Phone 503/ 388-0105





EMAIL AT: steffiesdogwash@earthlink.net
In my Yahoo email, both sending and receiving, phone numbers often show up enlarged, in blue, with the Skype logo and a link to call the number using Skype.  This clutters up the email.  How do I make this stop?  Thanks.
[billpughjr]
       
Uninstall Skype Click-to-Call add-on toolbar. 
http://community.skype.com/t5/The-Skype-Lounge/How-to-Disable-or-Remove-the-Click-and-Call-Function/...
 
AWSOME!!! NEW!!! Click Here For A Better View On
Your Smartphone!!Steffie's Mobile Site:
http://mobile.dudamobile.com/site/home_earthlink_2